lynton

By lynton

Lady with a Squirrel

This painting by Holbein the Younger was my favourite exhibit in the BM's Germany exhibition.  It reminds me of da Vinci's Lady with Ermine.  We met Dan there to see the exhibition before it ends in a few days.  Very interesting but as usual I wished I'd read up about it before I went.  But I was scuttling round trying to get ready for Burns Night, Tony's birthday, a governors meeting and a french lesson so no hope.  Too many people as usual at these "major" exhibitions but we were glad of our membership tickets as we can get in between timed visits. 
The exhibition made the point that our terms for the post war Germany - East and West - were just English shorthand.  It was easy to remember what the real name for the East was - DDR - but we took longer to get the one for the West - BRD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.