Proud Weegie

By Shiv

"I promise that I will do my best...."

How many blippers remember their Brownie/Cub/Scout/Guide promise?

Surprisingly - the words haven't changed much - some subtle differences which confused an old Brownie like me who grew up on in the 70's.  But nice to see all the similarities in the songs and traditions.

No 3 made her Brownie promise tonight -  delayed many times due to a hectic social life before Christmas.  The little Brownies in my car at home time were in hysterics when I told them I used to wear a Brownie Brown dress, yellow tie, leather belt and brown woolly hat (great for games!)

At 1st Inchinnan Pack, we played politically incorrect games like 'Jacobs Ladders' which involved running up and down a ladder of Brownie legs chasing your hat !(see - I told you it was useful - Brownies are nothing if not resourceful).

By the time we graduated to guides...the games changed.  Some involved Scouts ! (Kiss, cuddle or torture probably).  When no one was looking we nipped out into the corridor with 2p to phone 'Dial-a Disk' or the Operator for some banter !

No 3 attends a great Brownie pack, the big girls were lucky to go there too.  She comes home every week with a huge smile on her face and a 'creation'....Brown Owl, and  all the other owls - you do a CRACKING job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.