Intensely focussed

This morning's run was along Dawson Road with the hope that I might see the hawk that has been nesting in tall trees near the road.

Barely into Dawson Road, I saw a large grey bird alight on a wire. I was sure that I recognised a spotted turtle dove, and positioned myself to ensure that the morning sunlight was on the bird.

Not much further along I saw a large bird in a leafless tree, and with great anticipation moved towards it, only for it to depart. A photograph confirmed (when looked at later) that the fleeing bird was a heron, as were the others in the tree.

As the road started to head downhill to the Mahurangi River, I saw a swallow, and guessed that there were others on wires down a long right of way. I walked down and was able to get three very satisfying photos; one of a swallow hunting insects, another perched on the wire, and one on the wing.

Very pleased with both the run and the photos. However, while we waited for my nephew and his children and partner to arrive (and daughter C and the boys), I went down the path to our beach with tsuken and his two little tsukens. 

I am unable to go past this photo for today, and the way it encapsulates so much of the two weeks we have enjoyed with the tsukens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.