Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

D is for DRAMAtic

The alphabet challenge has reached D for dramatic. I did take a sky this morning but not very dramatic. the first thing I had thought of was drama - Shakespeare came to mind at once. I knew there was a sentence in a play which spoke of the power of words - the well known phrase 'the pen is mightier than the sword' appeared in a play in 1839 - but other writers had said similar much earlier.
Thank goodness for Google - I didn't have to read all the plays I have studied (I knew it was in one I had studied) - just Act 2 Scene 2 of Hamlet.
Then I played - my Mum's school prize from 1929 was three volumes of Shakespeare. I photographed the page then  the 'sword' and the pen and merged the images. 
Not very exciting but a memory of my Mum and the many times she would spout long passages of Shakespeare learned by heart when she was 14.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.