A Dog's Dinner

By G

Tarte a la tomate moutarde..

or Tomato Tart in the French style.

As you can see tonight we had a rather fine nosh from the recipe book of David Lebovitz.

Mr Lebovitz is a great cook and excellent writer and I would recommend anyone who's interested in food having a read He's an American pastry cook who moved to Paris just for the joy of it and he's just about caught the right balance between useful information and acerbic wit.

Here's one of my favourites on keeping chickens.

'Someone recently asked me if people in Paris have started raising chickens in their backyard. I had to pause for a minute, and wanted to remind folks that Paris wasn't Brooklyn, nor does anyone have - at least in my circles - a backyard in Paris. And if they did, they could afford a country house and would raise their chickens out there'

Perfect - and the tart was pretty fab too although not quite as picaresque as his.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.