Igor

By Igor

Burns Night and Haggis for one

Well - this size actually serves two, but as Anniemay is in the Indian Ocean dining on exotica from that part of the world, I shall have some leftover for tomorrow.

This ‘great chieftain o the puddin’-race!’ with its ‘honest, sonsie face’ divides opinion; people love it or hate it.  Anniemay probably speaks for many when she says; “I never fancy it, but when I do have it I like it.”  Me? - I love it - it’s my ultimate comfort food.

I have the trimmings - tatties and neeps - although a definition of neeps seems to divide opinion as much as haggis itself.  Some argue it means turnip while others, like my mum, meant swede.  But just to add to add to the confusion, many Scots refer to turnips as swedes anyway.  My mum, having lived most of her adult life in England, meant the orange coloured veggie.  So that’s what I have.  Incidentally, my spell checker insists that I’m actually having tattoos and jeeps.  

I won’t toast the haggis with a glass of whisky, having given up alcohol since my heart arrhythmia, but there’s a wee drop left in a bottle of Jura - just enough to put a smile on the face of the gravy.

My mum always used to say the Selkirk Grace before the meal;

Some hae meat and canna eat, 
   And some wad eat that want it; 
But we hae meat, and we can eat, 
   Sae let the Lord be thankit.

Cheers.

Tha mo bhàta-foluaimein loma-làn easgannan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.