Bald Eagle

By JohnJD

Spring Tides

There was a high tide due on the Mersey today at about two o'clock. We walked out to Upper Moss Side, opposite Fiddler's Ferry power station, to watch it come in.

It is amazing how high the river rises and how quickly. We saw curlews, lapwings, shelducks and a kestral. We had hoped to see more birds of prey but no luck today.

As we were about to leave the hide a gulp (I had to look that up) of cormorants flew overhead. We saw them later roosting in a couple of trees at the head of Lapwing Lake. As we were making our way down a small grassy slope I slipped and fell on top of my camera. Apart from a little mud, luckily I had put the lens cap back on it, the camera seems fine. So am I though I might be a little  bruised in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.