Burns

Today was really driech and I spent it driving here there and everywhere with few blip opportunities presenting themselves. So as it was Burns night, I decided to read a bit of the Bard and opened this book to discover with horror I have had it a whole 10 years! Where does time go?  As can be seen from the label I was given it at a dinner ten years ago to celebrate 150 years of the Public Libraries Act, a very enjoyable evening that I was lucky enough to attend by virtue of being on a particular committee. It was filled by 'important' people in the Scottish Library World and even some punters who used services on offer. It was hosted by Frank McAveety who was then the Minister in charge of Culture. It's a long time ago, but from what I recall, the dinner was lovely and the setting of the great hall was very sumptous. All rather grand and  a far cry from the recent butchery of the current UK library services inflicted by an uncaring Coalition government that clearly sees no value in a free service that encourages people to learn and think for themselves. Wonder why that would be........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.