In America

In America

Things are bigger, louder, more complicated. The energy is different altogether from Europe. As soon as you step off the plane you can feel it. It is still young here. Groping and juvenile at times, but fresh, alive, full of possibility.

I met my friend Isabelle when flying into D.C. and stayed to catch up for a few days. It was lovely to see her and her mom again - they treat me like family. And indeed I got to meet all of the family my first night in.

Still recovering from the jet lag Isabelle dragged me to the Kennedy Center to see the premier of a music video piece she put together on display for a larger event. We missed it actually, but got a fun impromptu photo shoot in amongst the old monuments and epithets overlooking the Potomac River. Making the most of a beautiful spring evening. Inhaling the familiar smell of home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.