Holocaust Remembrance Day

I had a meeting in Saltaire this afternoon and decided to walk to it along the canal and river (still carrying a little Christmas holiday weight - still, yep!) which is always one of my favourite walks anyway.
On arriving at Saltaire, I passed the striking United Reformed Church built by Sir Titus Salt in 1859.  Some 200 yards away, it had its doors open like wide arms and I could see a glow.  What an overwhelming urge I had to go to the church to see what the lights were, and then it dawned on me - it was Holocaust Remembrance Day.  Here is the Minister keeping alight 70 candles marking the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz and 20 candles marking the 20th anniversary of the genocide of 7,000 Muslims in Bosnia -  and in memory of all those who lost their lives.
He and his wife had been tending the candles since early morning and I chatted with them for quite a while.  I even popped back after my meeting and their son had taken over, and I chatted to him a while too.  
They were also honouring the survivors of these atrocities and hoped to learn the lessons of the survivors' experiences to challenge hatred and discrimination in the UK today.
Sobering and very moving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.