SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Islands and Inlets

...on Derwentwater
Glad I'd booked today off work even though it was dreich and drizzly it was good to get out after the weekend.

I didn't know where I was heading when I set off but I knew I wanted to get into the heart of the Lakes and it was the sort of weather and mood to get stuck into the particular. I had had it in mind for a long time to have a look at Cat Gill whose geological significance I had read about many years ago. Good choice ... the woods, the mosses and the pervasive sound of water filled the space and helped to empty my head and I was immersed in the world of the gill. When I emerged onto the open fell the panorama of Derwentwater towards Bassenthwaite was stunning in spite of the conditions. As I walked back under Falcon Crag I sat for a while and watched a peregrine soar just above me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.