Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

Stalagmites

I always remember the difference between stalagmites and stalactites because "tights come down and mites go up". A geography teacher at some point taught us that at school. So here are some stalagmites, spotted this morning.

It's been a funny old day. I slept through my alarm going off five times, so ended up on a later train than planned. Not a big deal. Or so I thought. But it was quite a busy train, and the woman next to me (window side, at a table of four) got really angry at the woman who sat down facing her, for putting her feet in her "space". They actually had a full on argument. Since I'm helpful, through laughter, I offered to referee. Angry woman one was clearly in the wrong, angry woman two laughed with me. Angry woman one continued the argument a bit herself, then made her elbows go really wide so she was now in "my" space. I just leaned on her. When they both stood up to get off, I helpfully said "I was expecting you both to be eight foot tall!" making fun of the argument again. Angry woman one made noises and angry woman two laughed again. I don't think angry woman one is a regular train commuter, perhaps normally a driver who decided not to drive in snow, so unsure how to act in travel company. I hope my comments help her in her further train travels.

Then the NHS tweeted a weird tweet. "It's cervical cancer awareness week (CCAW). Help spread the word with a smear selfie." I've since found out is part of a campaign asking you to smear your lipstick on your face. However we were all bemused in the office as to what the heck we were being asked to snap?! A colleague remarked "how will we know who is who?" and another "ask if we need a flash or not" which I did. The tweets now gone and a more appropriately worded one is in its place, and I got a tweet from them clarifying!

Then I bought a coffee because I was freezing when I got on the train home there, and it EXPLODED on me and the table and seat. I have no idea how this happened. I think maybe I was covering the air hole as I walked, til I put it down on the table.

A day of oddness and its not even six pm. I'd remark that my trains late leaving but that's not odd at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.