Country File

By marypot

A pleasant diversion

Quite a dumping of snow overnight which blew into high drifts. I was out early with neighbours digging out our cars and clearing a roadway but the wind kept whipping the snow back in and more fell. I decided to hang back and write a few reports at home while I waited for the weather to settle. The two usual routes I take to work were closed due to snow, and when I eventually at off an hour and a half or so later I took the long route via the A68. Unfortunately I was stopped a way down there too as part of the road was blocked with drifting snow. A police road block sent us via a diversion Down this pretty road that is near Lanchester and then into Durham city. After all the diversions I didn't get into work until midday, having cancelled all four of the morning visits I had planned to make. Made the most of office time though, and decided to head home via the biggest local roads of all - A1/A69. It meant a commute home of around 55 miles but at least it was largely clear of snow until the last stretch back to our village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.