Baryo Pilipinas

I decided to eat Filipino tonight.  Hubby was not so sure about ice on the road but it wasn't freezing and was not predicted to freeze, so off to The Hague.  I heard Tagalog spoken the whole evening, but a lot of Dutch in between  Filipinos are generally good with languages and hop from one to the other without a pause, the way hubby and I communicate at home.  They had Philippine pop music in the background as well, at least part of the time.  And then there was this large group of Filipinas who had planned a kind of 'ladies night' and it is their dinner you see here -- native style on banana leaves with everything in the middle and no silverware.  Lobster, fish, mussels, chicken, white rice, mango, watermelon ... I thought of Siargao ...

On the way to The Hague, we saw this spectacular sunset.  It was so frustrating because I was behind the wheel.  I had already taken some shots shortly after leaving the house but we were intent on getting on our way and the sunset just got more and more brilliant.  At one point, it even had a neon-light quality to it with bright pinks and orange and the smoke coming out of the oil refinery in the Moerdijk industrial area turned pink and orange, too.  'Wait till we cross the river', I said. Hubby tried his best to shoot behind my head (sunset was to our left) and I bent towards the steering wheel to help him, but in vain.  And then we discovered that the shots I had taken earlier had disappeared somehow from the cam memory.  An enormous frustration that lasted about 15 minutes.  It's not always that I get upset about missing a set of shots.

I am tired.  Will reply to your comments tomorrow ... thanks for visiting yesterday.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.