Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Enigma

Why is it that occasionally you will have a day that seems to defy the laws of physics and will seem endlessly long, and quite outside the bounds of other days? I didn't even get up early; Mr Bear gave me too much Armagnac last night and I slept until the very late time of ten to eight. And the day was happily domestic, with cleaning and cooking the order of the day. I did make a very nice cream of winter vegetable soup for lunch and a carrot and cashew nut chili for supper. But these were not enough to bend the space-time continuum so markedly. It is of course all perception; the laws of physics say nothing about people in the existential sense. Which is of course the whole point of the Benedict Cumberbatch  portrayal of Alan Turing in The Imitation Game, which we saw in Guildford at the end of our gravity defying Saturday (in my case after two pints of rather nice and perception enhancing bitter in The Star Inn). His dialogue with the bewildered copper (Rory Kinnear) seeks to square the triangle between man, god, and artificial intelligence; but in reality all hinges - and by all I mean the outcome of world war two - on some flirting and a chance conversation and some spilled beer in a pub bar. How people function is strange and governed by subtle signals but if you can break the human code you will get by.

I went to Bletchley Park back in September and I think it may be hallowed ground. It has that feel about it, as if the time space continuum somehow comes to rest there to take tea and have pause for thought. 

Or maybe it's just a mystery. An enigma ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.