Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Good Old Doris

I tried to make a baby picture blip on peopletwitcher's challenge for today, but mine are only available to me on my facebook page, which i couldn't access in time. I'll get mine up for next blip.

For today, I'll call this another emergency blip: I watched Alfred Hitchcock's 1956 classic The Man Who Knew Too Much, and here's my favorite scene.

Doris Day plays a celebrated singer and the mother of a boy who is taken hostage during the assassination attempt of a foreign head of state in London --a murder she foils with a well-timed scream. In this scene she is singing Que Sera, Sera at the country's embassy, but to the puzzlement of her small but bejeweled audience, she belts out the song very loudly and deliberately, so that her son might hear her if he's in the building. Here is the whole scene. It's so American of her to pronounce the French word que as "KAY," as though it were Spanish!

The scene has always delighted me for its originality and the way it mixes innocence with high suspense. As for Doris Day, she was very famous and still all over the Media as I was growing up. She was the great "girl next door," (pretty and nice but not overly glamorous, and she was believable, as well as intelligent). I never thought of her very much except that she seemed a "goody two-shoes," and in reading her Wiki now I know more about her that I ever did before. But now I'll state my respect for someone who has never turned up sleazy or stupid --not even once --in spite of being under society's microscope since the 1940s. She's always shown class (in the American sense), she comes from humble origins, and she's a good person.

[EDIT: Chatting later with Ceridwen, I learned that the song [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Que_sera_sera]Que Sera, Sera [/url]has an extremely interesting history of its own, and to make a long story short, the title is not in French and "the saying has virtually no history in Spain or Italy prior to Doris Day."]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.