Gold and diamonds

When I left for work on Friday morning I checked my swan plants and I had 18 caterpillars, all squashed into each other on the last dozen leaves.  I was very concerned that there might not be enough food for them to make it to chrysalis stage.  

I left for the night straight from work so didn't check them again until I got home on Saturday evening.  I was hugely relieved to find that there were only half a dozen caterpillars left, and they were happily eating the stalks of the plant.  Then I went on a chrysalis hunt.  

I found one (this blipped one) on the kowhai tree beside what is left of the swan plant.  I could see 8 on the miniature flax next to that, and there are were two caterpillars just about to begin their cocoons. That seems to be most of them accounted for, which is a relief.  And there are probably more chrysalis that I just haven't spotted. 

Of course, I have no idea how many of the chrysalis were already on the flax.

Anyway, I'll be watching them keenly.  I've been out today to try and catch a chrysalis half formed, but so far I've not been able to capture any of the process - I'll keep checking.

As you can see, we have some desperately needed rain today.  I hope it's enough to make a difference to farmers paddocks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.