See the lucky penny?

I popped to Saltaire this morning with Chino as I was picking up two shabby chic vintage chairs with purple velvet seats at a bargain price - nice!  I saw this sign on a tree outside the Victoria Hall last week and was pretty saddened by it.
I think I've mentioned in a blip before but there are 32 trees being chopped down in the streets of Saltaire as they are making the pavements uneven and inhibiting light, which is fair doos, they are... but still very sad - I hate to see healthy trees chopped down:(  
This sign makes me sad - see the lucky penny bottom left!  I'm watching to see if this tree is one of the 32!
Someone told me they are to be replaced with 8 London Plane trees, which I'd never heard of prior to peckhambelle's blip last week.  They absorb the toxins in the air in their bark and then shed it - brilliant!  But they appear to be big and inhibit light - hmmmm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.