PeckhamBelle

By PeckhamBelle

Proof

We had snow. Briefly. All gone now.

This antler is one of my favourite things. The children and I were staying in Sussex during the wettest, coldest February Half Term in history. Driven crazy by staying inside I forced them out for a walk to the Parham House estate in the driving wind and rain. It was so wet, and the lake was so overfull, that there were fish lying dying, washed up on the grass. The children decided that the fish had committed suicide because they were fed up with being wet. In the middle of this wild, wet (rather wonderful) walk we saw this antler on the ground. I'd always wanted to find one. I remember being so excited and the kids thinking it was all a bit gross, but they were happy because I was happy.  We took it home and dried it on the Aga and the whole house stunk of dead deer for a week.  We brought it back to London at the end of the holiday and it's lived in the garden ever since.  The kids often move it from one place to another and remember 'The worst walk in the world'.  They loved it really. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.