The Green Grass of Home

By aCaseiro

a "serious" tripod... at last.

I broke my Tripod at TheSanatorium... better said I finished it there.. it was already a bit worn and broke. 

My first tripod was a "toy".. it was light and small enough to hang in my backpack, but it was kind of short, barely reaching my chest ... impossible to peep over anything, and I should crouch to operate the camera... 

The second one was kind of big, but it revealed to be very fragile.. it was not so cheap but did not last 3 months in my hands... even if the brand is quite reputated and of German construction, it was rubbish... small plastic parts started to break one after the other until the point it was completely unusable...  

This is my third (in 6 months) and I hope it is my last... it better be for the price...

I'm loving it... it's heavy and huge but looks solid... and it's all singing and dancing. 
The main tower is inclinable, the legs open till almost touching the ground, the tower when reclined can rotate all around 360ºc, it's very tall (you can make a tent with it and spend the night underneath), has some sort of compass to make precise measures when taking photos for a pan... virtually can be mounted in any position and reach everything...
very suitable for macro shooting.. now i can put the lens in the face of the spider... or to photograph stuff in a table...
I can place the camera in the very corner of a narrow room, peep out of windows or over fences... 
it also has retractable spikes in the feet for outdoor use... 
It was not cheap but one gets what he paid for...

here is a picture making Jim look like a dwarfie...he's 5,8"" (I think) and open in a very extreme position...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.