SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Lakeland Fells

from Arnside Knott

An exhausting day today but it was so lovely I managed a sneaky quick bolt up Arnside Knott on my way between Kirkby Stephen and Lancaster - it looked as though it was going to be a real corker of a sunset but I had to press on and the snowy fells were stunning looking back in to the Lakes. It started to feel springlike and I saw my first lambs of the season.

On my way to Kirkby this morning, I had wanted to blip the snow picking out the contoured lines of the Pennines near High Cup Nick - it bought to mind the Wordsworth line, '... share the transport ....'  and subsequent conversation this morning helped me to recall his wonderful sonnet,

'Surprised by joy - impatient as the wind' ....

Surprised by joy – impatient as the wind
I turned to share the transport – Oh! With whom
But thee, long buried in the silent tomb,
That spot which no vicissitude can find?
Love, faithful love, recalled thee to my mind –
But how could I forget thee? - Through what power,
Even for the least division of an hour,
Have I been so beguiled as to be blind
To my most grievous loss? – That thought's return
Was the worse pang that sorrow ever bore,
Save one, one only, when I stood forlorn,
Knowing my heart's best treasure was no more;
That neither present time nor years unborn
Could to my sight that heavenly face restore.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.