robpal79

By robpal79

The Duck and The Elephant

When these suddenly appeared in my bedroom, I had a flash from my childhood.  As a baby I would gaze into the blue jeweled eyes of my little friends.  The animals cast in metal.  Sometimes they would talk to me, but I kept it all a secret.  A sacred secret, like if I told anyone, someone would take them away.  Take me away.  I mentioned them one night in front of some gentleman I knew, and some some I did not.  My sister always said I talk to much.  Tell too much.  Trust too much.  The next day they were gone.  Vanished.  I like to think that they escaped on their own, back to their natural habitat away from all of us humans.  But something makes me think that they were kidnapped.  Taking to the second location.  I cry out for them every night.  I'm sorry.  I'm so sorry I let them take you.  Be strong little ones.  I'm coming for you.  I won't abandon you. I'll set you free.  I just have to set myself free first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.