living in a glass house

By DandelionTree

Bad hair day

So, I'm going to go on about my hair for a bit, because I'm dead dead exciting like that, so I urge you all to scroll past.  This is mainly to document the transition.

I stopped using shampoo a little over 3 weeks ago.  I'd been wanting to try the no 'poo thing for a while but since I had always had a job where I had to leave the house and look professional I didn't think it would be easy to hide the bad greasy days so I didn't.  Now that I work mainly from home I can throw a hat on my head and hopefully most people won't mind. 
So the reason I am going through all of this greasy hair torture is that shampoos are very good at stripping hair of it's natural oils, making the scalp go into overdrive creating more and more sebum.  Some people can go days without washing their hair but mine was a greasy mess by the day after washing.  I was a slave to shampoo/ conditioner/ styling products and heat treatment and tired of it.  Also, it probably is a good idea to stay away from SLS, parabens and other such chemicals if possible.  And it IS! 

So my routine now is to wash with a shampoo bar (so not completely no 'poo but close) and rinse with apple cider vinegar, leaving 4 days in between washes.  I'm hoping to go completely no 'poo and find a different wash that works well for me but I thought the bar would be a good stepping stone.  I also brush with a boar bristle brush to evenly distribute the sebum and rinse with water only most days.  This is on day three and it is already much less greasy than on day 3 when I started.  So this is not an 'after' pic.  Hopefully a month from now my day 3 pic will be less oily, and maybe even day 4?  One can hope.  Until then, I need ALL THE HATS!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.