LUCKY, THE HORSE

At seven the phone rang. We'll soon come with the camera to have a look in the tubes. And although it took them a while before nine they had a look and discovered that the camera was not use because there was too much water in the tube.
But before one o'clock they had come back with the squirt (not sure the name is correct) and the camera. It became obvious that roots had come into the tubes and blocked the passage.
Tomorrow they'll come back and try to destroy the roots and then later in the year (when the cold has gone) a big hole can me made and a new tube installed.
I had left in the morning for a walk to the horses at the Eisenbahnerheim, bring them carrots, takes photos, inhale fresh air, enjoy  this lovely sunny day.
At first I did not see the horses, but since the garden around the building (where railway employees  could enjoy a holiday if they liked) is very wide, I walked around the stone walls and suddenly found the three standing, each on a different spot. I called there names, waved with the carrots, but only when I start to whistle, I saw their reactions.
They came very slowly towards me, took their carrots. Paule slowly walked back from where he had come. Lucky and the other horse (whose name I not yet know) stayed near.
I watched them for a while and then walked back home.
In the afternoon it was so nice to sit on a bench and have a rest.
The picture shows Lucky, the horse, and Paule at the background.

My haiku:

Lucky, how lucky you are
Having me as your friend
And I having you

And the proverb:

Lubberland, where they have half-a-crown a day for sleeping.

1813   J. Ray, 64   A Collection of English Proverbs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.