The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Back to Hội An (& Swift Tailor)

We got up early and headed to Huế's Citadel before driving back to Hội An. The weather started out great but slowly got cloudier. By the time we stopped at Elephant Springs, it was too cold to be inviting. Our second experience of the Hải Vân Pass was very different with mist and rain giving it an eerie feel. To save petrol and to enjoy the silence, we turned off the engines for most of the way down which was great fun.

My bike got a flat tyre and I had to get it repaired by a mechanic on the street. A few minutes before we got to Hội An, Dec & Claire's bike ran out of gas just as it started to rain. I had to go fetch a bottle of petrol so they could make it the last couple of miles to the homestay.

I then picked up two shirts I'd got made by a local tailor (Hội An is famous for its tailors). I got to pick the material and design, then it took them just four hours to make. Only £23 for one short-sleeve and one long-sleeve shirt. Bargain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.