Here & There

By UncagedKiwi

Shadows and silhouettes

I ventured down to New Brighton this afternoon for another light jog along the beach and to have a look at the sand sculpture competition beside the pier. I thought I might find a Blip shot there - certainly a great carnival atmosphere, some creative works on the sand, market stalls and colourful kite-flying in the steady Easterly breeze. Then this evening I went for stroll in Hagley Park and was much more taken by the beautiful warm light of the setting sun through these trees. It's a magnificent stand of maritime pines (pinus pilaster), planted about 1870. From somewhere up in the canopy came the call of the Little Owl (introduced from Germany). Although I have often heard this owl I have yet to see one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.