The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Slimbridge - Festival Of Birds

I know it's not a bird!

We were up early this morning to go to Slimbridge with mum and dad for the Festival of Birds.

I've never been to this particular event before. There were a series of talks during the day, with Mike Dilger the star attraction.

Mum has been to Slimbridge with me before, but it was dads first time since 1968. It has changed a bit in that time!

We sat through an excellent talk by Ed Drewitt on Urban Peregrines, and then it Mike's turn. It was the same talk we had seen a couple of times, but there are always bits you have forgotten from before, or Mike adds new bits in. As always, it was highly entertaining.

After lunch we went for a wander around the grounds. It was nice for a change to do the captive birds bit. I usually loiter in the hides when I go these days for the wild birds. I took a load of decent photos during the otter feed, something else I don't normally do.

The big lens brigade were hogging the Rushy hide, so we went for a coffee and then watched the last swan feed of the day.

The day was over in a flash, and after a quick chat to Mike it was time to go home. We finished off the day with a nice meal in the new Harvester in Talbot Green.

Not a bad Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.