Bothering to blip

I blip for loads of reasons.

It's to make sure the small exchanges, the wee moments of humour, and the little achievements that make up our little family and friends, aren't forgotten

It's to capture it all in a gorgeous wee family album for me to reminisce about when I'm ancient and have forgotten who I am (unless this Polaroid sponsorship deal turns the lush page turners into whitewashed, antiseptic and be-logo'd disasters)

It's to let our old friends that live ever so far away know what we've been up to

It's to document the kids growing up - just as much as it's about documenting our (Dave and I) inevitable descent into mildly alarming eccentricity, proud badge wearing grumpyness and sleekit desire to embarrass the kids that we all know ripens (pleasurably) with age

It's to get the wee stuff out of my system, like a regular cathartic release to keep the clouds away, but ever so cautiously and carefully, so as not to actually reveal anything at all of the real ups and downs

But most of all, it's to cherish the wee triumphs and the people I hold most dear. Like coming home late tonight to find Tess had got a much needed confidence boost and a much needed sense of belonging. She was waiting up for me, full to bursting with the news that she had finally been picked for the netball team, had been given a team skirt to wear and has an away game match fixture in two weeks. A small thing in the grand scheme of things and of a life eventually lived out, but a very big thing right here, right now for Tess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.