Draw Your Kitchen

This is the sixth and final drawing session of my on-line art class. The time went fast, although I wasn't always the most diligent student. Each week offered inspiration from wildly different artists; this week's piece is inspired by Tommy Kane. If you look him up, you will see very detailed pen drawings that have been filled in with watercolor, just like this, only way way better. The assignment is "Draw Your Kitchen," but we were also instructed to "Take Your Time". He hoped we would spend three or four hours on one piece. I took two hours, a very long time for me to work on one drawing. It's true, though: the more you look, the more you see. The funny thing for me about drawing is that my objects tend to grow while Im drawing them. I really had to struggle to get the stove to stay in the space it was allotted. 

I really enjoyed this technique, much to my surprise. And I love this piece of advice from the instructor when he was asked how to know when a piece is finished:  "I just really come to the end of the painting or drawing and stop. Easy as that."  Yup. Just stop when you get to the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.