Rosbif

By Rosbif

Day 36 - A Nordic Day

There are 2 main disciplines in skiing, Alpine and Nordic. Alpine is more familiar to most people, it's what you see on Ski Sunday in the UK, it's what James Bond does. It's always going downhill. Nordic skiing goes back to skiing as A-to-B winter transport and is both up and downhill, traditionally without the help of ski lifts. The main difference in the technique is that in alpine skiing your foot is held onto the ski at the toe and heel, whereas in Nordic your foot is only held at the toe. Today I spent the morning practising my telemark technique, and the afternoon trying to be a cross country skier.

I took this shot while trying to get my breath back during my pathetic 7km ski. The pros race over 50km!

Every day skiing is a good day, and now I'm very tired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.