Dérive

By oneD

Oriental Water

When I first went to Art School I asked a tutor how I should improve my drawing - he said draw water and look at ways in which water has been depicted. This was good advice and ever since I've been fascinated by this subject.

Later, in terms of drawing, I was shocked to discover that people can spend six years full time in Art School and at the end of that time have absolutely no ability or interest in it. This is even true in areas where you might think drawing was of importance such as textile design, sculpture and print making.

I have a 'traditional' view of art school training - I think drawing is important but that view is now often contested.

---------------------

I like this quote from David Hockney which has relation to drawing, water and photography.

"Perspective is a law of optics... The Chinese did not have a system like it. Indeed, it is said they rejected the idea of the vanishing point in the eleventh century, because it meant the viewer was not there, indeed, had no movement, therefore was not alive"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.