Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Cheered up

The first summerly warm day here and as it's not a regular working day for me I decided to get away with mum and my uncle. A call to the nursing home where my uncle was admitted a week ago learned me they welcomed an outing for him and ma accepted the invitation gladly too, so off I was to pick both up and take them for a walk to a park both remember well.
We did not walk a long way, but long enough for my uncle and we set down at the cafe in the park they'd looked forward to, but that was closed! We were not the only ones that were surprised by its closure for the day, but sat down on the terrace and had a nice time with more chats and then walked back to the car - where I blipped them - and off to a restaurant for a meal outdoors. Things they do not much do nowadays and therefore were such a welcome treat that cheered them up:)

the mood swings my uncle now has were understandable and yet also so painful to witness, he's now a fragile man and suffers from loss of his control over his life. And then again it was quite funny to hear ma and her brother in law react to one anothers stories with 'But you've just told me that!'
today I felt again how fragile and old my sweet ancestors have become

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.