AlexDarke

By AlexDarke

Reality

Today reality struck. I had a meeting at a Dubai studio about some freelance work next month. The studio was so clean, with no sand anywhere. People where smartly dressed, there were no kooky characters and everything was very sterile and formal. The work lined up was dull. It was a sobering prospect. I instantly took a disliking to it all, based purely on the fact that I'm a converted events designer..! Working in bizarre locations, with a team of amazing people, all with varying skills and backgrounds to add to the project. And seeing your work you've been slogging on for the past 4 months in the flesh is so rewarding. Needless to say I think I'm going to turn down there offer. I'm not ready for professional reality. It was like being interviewed for a new job when you don't want to leave your existing one.

In other day news, the festival finally opened! A parade of 700 people, leas by the sheikh of the UAE, followed by all the other leading emirate sheikhs. A pretty impressive sight! It was a bit awe inspiring seeing period queuing up to get into the festival to see what we've all constructed! I was camera happy.

Then the creative team wrap party. More sushi, more rum and more dancing. I'm going to miss these guys. The camaraderie, the laughs and the constant being there for everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.