Barbara Hitchings

By Spannygranny

One day....

Roy has been saying that we must go to Salamanca, Toledo and Avila.  He went there many years ago, I suspect before he got married the 1st time!!

Each year goes by and nothing happens, that is because I usually organise all our holidays, all he has to do is pack and make sure his passport is up to date.  This is the one holiday I refuse to organise. Yesterday we called in to a café in Los Dolses and he picked up a travel brochure, and guess what, there is a trip to the very area we went to go to.  Not a bad price, considering it includes coach travel, half board and a guided tour of Salamanca.

The date doesn't clash with anything we are doing, so I suggested he booked it - no, he asked me to check out the cost of doing it ourselves.

I spent last night looking at hotel options, which in themselves are not too expensive, but when you factor in, meals, petrol, tolls, car parking etc, it doesn't work out much cheaper. Also, what he has forgotten is that he went there in the 1960s, in a little A35 van, when these towns and cities were quiet.  I dread to think what they are like now. So I will continue to persevre (nag), and hopefully we will do the coach trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.