Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Go West!!

Breakfast was epic! No Muzak. Fresh fruit salad and yoghurt, toast and home made jem jam, bottomless (excellent) coffee, and - wait for it - avocado on toasted sourdough bread with poached eggs and crispy bacon. This is my newest favourite breakfast!

We made the wrong decision, on reflection, to travel east towards Morpeth and then the coast. Morpeth was fine, a tidy wee market town and I found a very decent flat white. But I've crossed it off my list because not only was there screechy muzak in every single shop (except Waterstone's) but the screechy muzak was outside too in the new shopping arcade/mall. Help!

I was able to buy some calcium pills, which, somehow, I had omitted in my new pill box. Just as well I hadn't forgotten one of my prescription pills...

We then set off for the coast. It didn't look far on the map, but it was. Huge three lane roundabouts every few hundred yards. Kate (Mrs TomTom) would be insisting I go one direction, while JR would be insisting on another direction. I ended up going round a few of the roundabouts more than once!

I must say, Whitley Bay was lovely - a sandy beach, full of dog walkers (Archie would have loved it) with tidy, big old hotels and well kept houses for miles. But it was quite stressful getting back on to the correct road - the TomTom was invaluable.

We popped into the pub at Stannington, our nearest village. After finding the quietest spot away from the obligatory screechy muzak, JR spotted on the menu her Holy Grail of pub food - Game Pie ! She had one many years ago and still dreams about it. And so, the diet starts tomorrow, possibly, because we've booked in for dinner tonight. The chance of Game Pie cannot be passed by. I hope it lives up to the one in her dreams. Also, I spotted bread and butter pudding on the dessert menu - I need to compare it to last night's.

So this was the only photo I took, having spent most of the day going round roundabouts, being in the wrong lane, and sitting in traffic jems jams. I got my new jumper caught on the barbed wire and prickly hedge trying to get the bloomin' horse to come to me.

But I rather liked its style...

PS LOVED the 'Then and Now' wedding photos! Well done all who joined in the fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.