m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

Men of Steel

I took a trip into Sunderland this morning as I needed to return a recent purchase. Once I had finished I drove up to the Stadium of Light to take a few shot of these Men of Steel. I've been aware that they were there for quite some time and seen pictures on the net but never seen them in person. I was surprised at how big they actually are. This shot was taken looking over the River Wear from below the Stadium of Light. After a bit of searching around on the net this is what I managed to find out.

The installation is entitled 'Men of Steel' by Graeme Hopper (2001). The steel men push boulders of coal up the hill to pay homage to the generations of miners who worked in the Wearmouth Colliery where the Stadium of Light now stands. The artist said: "It represents man's social struggle and will to survive against the odds. The figures show purpose and aims, they symbolise hope and achievement."

I'm delighted to see that the beautiful weather has continued for another day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.