More Life of Sands

By sands

Drying Day

We were up at 6am this morning and we were initially told 3 of us were on the first trip of the day and the other 3 on the second trip. I was in the group in the first trip but down at the WSP office, we were told there were 2 additional clients so there was space for only 1 volunteer on this trip and the rest would go on the afternoon trip. They all voted for me to go on the first trip alone as I was the only one who had been here before and really knew what I was doing!!!

It's hard work being the only volunteer on the boat! There's not much time to relax & watch the sharks but once all the clients who wanted to go in the cage had their wetsuits on (there were 17 of them!!) I had time to watch some hot shark action!!

It got quite windy while we were out and on the way back I got drenched by the spray! Luckily, it was sunny as well as windy and my boat gear soon dried off for tomorrow's trip.

We found out that a baby Bryde's Whale had washed up on a nearby beach and a whale conservation group were doing an autopsy. We went along to watch for a bit and it was pretty interesting.

Up until now, 5 of us have cooked meals together in the evenings. But last night, a couple of the girls started fretting about their weight so they decided they would eat mostly vegetables for their evening meal. So that's what 3 of them are doing but luckily, Amy is happy to still cook with me and I made a stonking chilli con carne tonight :-)

It's now nearly 8pm and I'm nearly ready for bed! We'll be up again at 6am tomorrow for another day at sea so I don't mind feeling this rather lovely tiredness at the end of the day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.