Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No naps today. For anyone.

Leo Day today, having swapped yesterday's, so it was an early walk through the Meadows. Although the blossom is gone, the trees always look lovely in the morning or evening light.

But my perfect walk to the bus was ruined by having to look at the amount of litter left on the grass from yesterday's people enjoying the sunshine. I don't understand how people can get up and walk away and leave their rubbish for someone else to pick up. I believe we do have Litter Wardens in the city - not that I've ever seen any of these rare breeds, but it would be a good idea to have them on hand of an afternoon/ evening to remind people.

Went along to a Wednesday Toddler group. This wasn't a much mayhem as the one I went to last time, because the adults seemed to be taking an interest in their charges, and were ready for any fracas over a toy before it developed. And there was tea and home made cakes, although one couldn't really sit down and enjoy them.

A lovely (quite long) walk in the sun and back, lunch for Leo and after a wee play, off for a kip (him, not me). But he had other ideas. He just did not want to sleep, so he was back up and having to be entertained for most of the afternoon. I kept demonstrating how to snooze, but he was having none of it.

He's very mobile now, and is most amusing to watch. I was trying to think who he reminded me of, and of course, it's a drunk man. The way he wobbles, concentrates hard, and tries to steady himself. Then lurches off, not quite in the direction he intended. And the way he stands on a book at the same time as he's trying to lift it. Or goes to pick up a ball, but his foot kicks it away each time.

Who knows, I may see the teenage Leo like this again. I will be able to tease him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.