Divine Appointment

The girl in the pink hat.

Yesterday was the perfect day for a beach walk. It was sunny, it was warm. The tide was out, perfect for beach walking. The sea shell were plenty, perfect for shell hunting ...and then I met Susan.

I've seen her around the neighborhood. I knew she had Downs, she reminded me of my sister-in -law Lynn who also has Downs.

As I was walking the beach, she also was walking the beach. She was behind me but way ahead of her mom and dad, I was way ahead of my walking partner too. When she caught up to me I wanted desperately to make conversation with her. So I started talking to her about the shells. I showed her a shell I had found with a hole in it and told her I was going to make a necklace. She immediately started to look for a shell with a hole in it...I was starting to win her over.

I told her my name was Susan, she told me her name was Susan, I had totally won her over. We walked the beach together. Later I found out her middle name is Lynn, my middle name is Lynn. Funny thing my sister-in-laws name is Lynn Susan. Missing Lynn, I would call this a divine appointment.

I have a new friend :).
Photo Credit: Eddy Mann

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.