Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

the Malawian landrover.......

Today I was at a training in Champhira and as its market day in Jenda I passed many of these Malawian landrovers on the way!!

Came home and got a message on my phone from a young lad who had conned me out of money some three or four years ago!  He said he needed urgent help, he is on his way to Botswana where someone has said they will pay his fees at a college and that he can also work for this person!  But he wanted me to pay for his accommodation in Botswana!  I said no because apart from the fact that I did not have the money, I did not trust him.  He has sent me almost 50 messages in the last hour and my answer is no.  Now he is threatening to kill himself and says it will be my fault!

I am not writing this to gain sympathy but for you to understand what living in what is now classified the poorest country in the world is like! Everyday I have people begging for something because I am the white person in a coloured world and therefore considered rich!  It sometimes gets me down, and while I came home from the training this afternoon feeling positive this has really annoyed me!  Why should I have to pay for someone's accommodation in another country?  Why should I feel guilty when I say no?  The dilemma's of living in the third world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.