gennepher

By gennepher

Going for tea...

I was going to visit a friend then realised I had nothing to take with me...then I thought...'I know, I can take some of my worms with me'... everyone likes a bag of worms, don't they?

These are tiger worms, though in winter you do not seem to see the stripes on them. They are not very active in winter. In summer I can put a hand in my wormery and pull out handsfulls of wriggly worms.

I once swapped a carrier bag of worms for a trout this guy had caught. When I showed him the worms in the bag I said 'This is Henriette and Gertrude, and this is Tom and Sally, and this is Harry and Richard....'
'You name all your worms?' he asked.
'Oh yes,' I replied with a serious face.
A few months later I encountered this guy again. 'Just to let you know,' he said, 'I haven't used the worms for bait on account of you giving them names...'

By the way my friend liked her worms.

For the uninitiated you make a wormery out of a bin...I use a dustbin now...throw the tiger worms in and throw in all your peelings, newspapers, eggshells, lettuce and some other kitchen waste and the worm will breed and make lovely rich soil for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.