Just over three years ago, I started this daily blog. Originally it was on Tumblr where some people were doing a challenge to post a photo a day for a year. I started in mid-January, sixteen days late. At the end of the year, some of the other people who were doing that project moved over to Blipfoto, which I hadn't used before, and I came across with them. I think I've met just two of them in person but, as is the way with social media, I still class the others as friends.

Yesterday, one of those friends, Liane, suggested to me on Twitter that I might like to take part in a challenge, which was to post three photos a day for five days, using the hashtags #artchallenge and #artchain. I liked the idea but I wanted a theme, so I decided to use the original 'elements'. (I know there are only four; you'll have to wait for day 5 to see how I plan to get around that).

So, I started taking my photos today, including this one for 'Air'. Living where I do, a windfarm might have been an obvious choice, which is why I went for this instead. Abi bought it for me for my birthday, last year (I think). She has an uncanny knack for buying presents, part of which is an incredible confidence that the recipient will like what she's giving them. The success is not always immediate, either; I thought this was a charming, whimsical little gift and I put it in the garden, just in front of the gate. 

But now I see it every time I leave or arrive home, and as it makes me think of Abi and it makes we feel warm and loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.