Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Challenge: A View From Above

I've never been  to a music festival before. I've never really fancied the hassle of camping, bad weather, and lots of people on drugs, even though I love my indie music. So when Radio 6 announced an indoor festival on my doorstep, where one of my favourite bands were headlining and I could be in my own bed by the end of the night, I thought, this is perfect. I can't even begin to describe how good it was last night. The Sage has never looked so beautiful and it felt like a total privilege to be able to wander freely around the whole building, just checking out who ever you wanted to see. We had a bit of a 'throwback to the nineties' night and caught Gaz Coombes, Neneh Cherry, and The Charlatans. My brother and I had seats in the gallery directly facing the stage and the view from above was amazing, as were The Charlatans. Earlier on in the week, I had proclaimed to have been to my favourite gig of all time, when we caught Jesus and Mary Chain...but that was until The Charlatans' set last night. They opened with Weirdo, did some of their new stuff, and totally lifted the roof of with One To Another. Even my hard-to-please brother turned to me and said 'that was pretty special,' and indeed it was. This band have been going for 25 years and they are on the form of their life. How lucky am I to have seen so much great music in one week? I love Tyneside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.