beckie::egan

By beckie

Ickworth House

Went over to Ickworth House this morning. 
Got my map and followed the 4 mile blue route around the park. Most of the route was on a muddy pathway, when I say muddy, I mean REALLY MUDDY!!  I've never seen anything quite like it, I kept thinking it'd clear up / dry off soon.. but it really didn't, not until I got back onto the main driveway heading back to the house.
It was lots of fun slipping and sliding and squelching though the mud. A few bits of it caught me out, but thankfully I managed to remain upright the whole way in the end!!
My black boots are now a nice shade of brown! But had a totally brilliant day!
The route took in a good chunk of parkland, past the Church, a couple of lakes, the summerhouse and woodlands with the occasional carpet of snowdrops!

Popped into the restaurant for a bite to eat for lunch before a wander around the front of the house then headed back to the car.

The photo above is taken looking across Canal Lake to the summerhouse, with the walled garden, the church and Ickworth House Rotunda in the distance.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.