Uno Momento

By glyn001

Dunwich

Today I felt like driving so I took off without fixing my destination first. This is not really a good trait but one that I am prone too. I found myself at Dunwich.

For those of you who can time travel I would steer clear of Dunwich. On 1 January 1286 a large storm swept much of the town into the sea, and the River Dunwich was partly silted up; this was followed by two further surges in the following year, the South England flood of February 1287 and St. Lucia's flood in December. Residents fought to save the harbour but this too was destroyed by an equally fierce storm in 1328 which also swept away the entire village of Newton, a few miles up the coast. Another large storm in 1347 swept some 400 houses into the sea.

Nothing so dramatic happened in my visit but I did come across this boat...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.