My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Solar Tree

Another perfect sunny day in London. I spent lunchtime in the park with my friend Amy and every inch of green space was taken up with people enjoying the warm weather. I decided to walk home this evening as I wanted to see Clerkenwell Design Week which is on at the moment.

This beautiful object is the Solar Tree by designer Ross Lovegrove. Here's a bit more info about it; "From dusk until dawn, the six-metre-high installation will illuminate the square with four of the 10 'heads' attached to its 'trunk.' During the day, the 10 'branches' will collect solar energy through photovoltaic cells in the 'heads' and store it in integrated batteries. The Design Week is great as all the showrooms open their doors late and there's a great atmosphere.


Solar Tree, St John's Square, London

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.