Postage Stamps 2014

The day was as it had been predicted to be -- grey, wet and cold.  I knew the chances of an outdoor blip were nil.  Suddenly, a bright thought:  why not go to Breda and update the postage stamp collection?!?  So that is what I did, and what you see here is my favourite of the set.  It shows the set commemorating the 12.5 wedding anniversary of Their Majesties King Willem-Alexander and Queen Maxima.  12.5????  What kind of anniversary is that?  It's a Dutch tradition = it's one-half of 25!

On the way home, I was busy figuring out something for which, actually, this isn't the time yet -- what will happen to my collection when I'm no longer around.  I think it's because I'm doing bits of spring cleaning every day (a bit at a time so as not to tire the arms too quickly), which for me includes putting stuff away and/or deciding what to keep and what to chuck.  Hubby's two kids can't be bothered with either a visit to us or a visit from us and have abs no interest in anything we are, do or have, so I've begun giving away some of my old stuff (books, CDs, toys, clothes, etc.) to interested parties.

A complete 21-year-old Dutch postage stamp collection, though, is an entirely different matter.  Being honest with myself, I have to admit I've lost half the motivation to go on with it because I know there's no one I can bequeath it to, so it'll probably be sold for a handsome fortune one day.  Well, why don't I just quit it now and get it done?  Simple -- I still find the stamps very pretty and actually still send loads of stuff by snail mail.

We had some more of the pakchoy stew tonight; hubby thinks it really tastes good while I'm convinced it can be done even better next time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.