The Master's Complete Works, Rijksmuseum, AMS

The great Rembrandt.

Full name:  Rembrandt Harmenszoon (son of Harmen) van Rijn
Date of Birth:  15 July 1606
Place of Birth:  Leiden
Date of Death:  4 October 1669
Place of Death:  Amsterdam

He died so poor and with so many debts his bones were thrown away after 20 years -- you can hardly believe his works are now worth millions.

The exhibit ('de Late Rembrandt') of his works in the Rijksmuseum is the sole reason I went to Amsterdam today.  A tear in my eye as I walked around, realizing there might never come a time again when all of his work can be viewed so close to home under one roof.  The Rijksmuseum had to pull all its diplomatic and bureaucratic charm and artistic expertise together to make sure this exhibit took off.

The visit today wasn't my first visit to the Rijksmuseum.

And before that, hubby and I had already gone together way back in 2004, but it was being renovated at the time and we were only allowed a limited view because many of the works were, of course, in safe storage.

Left the house 13.45, back home by 18.45.  Sunny on the road, dry, not too chilly and, most important, absolutely no traffic!

Tomorrow, Sunday, believe it or not, I have to attend a seminar in The Hague which I will count as work under the category 'Professionalisation'.  I'm required to spend 10% of my time keeping up with knowledge and skills in English, teaching, and business.  Tomorrow's seminar will the first of about 10, and all on a Sunday so as not to interfere with the regular job.  What I find quite intriguing is that it's being organized by the university I graduated (B.A.) from in The Philippines -- the Ateneo de Manila.  I doubt I'll see a familiar face, though ... graduation was last century.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.