Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Chienbäse

The night before Basel's Fasnacht carnival kicks off there is a special fire parade in nearby village, Liestal. It was very strange getting the train to the place I work on a Sunday and even stranger that the trains were packed! I was glad I knew my way around as I was able to take some side streets and avoid the crowds to get a good spot on the Main Street for the parade.

Firemen marched and ran down the street with huge torches as well as huge wagons with flames a couple of storeys high! I don't think anything like this would be allowed at home!

The most amusing part of the night was the guy standing across the street from me with a very long stick who was cooking sausages as the flames passed us (pictured - tricky to make out but the stick can be seen on the right hand side of the Flames). Genius!

Now my jacket reeks of smoke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.