Ainster

This morning SWMBO and I headed off to The East Neuk.
Our destination was The Scottish Fisheries Museum in Anstruther (known locally as Ainster) but I stopped off at East Weymss to have a look at McDuff's Castle and its walls which are returning to sand.

The Fisheries Museum - which has some great carvings on its courtyard door - is a really interesting place and well worth a visit if you are in the area.

The reason I went today was to see a small photographic exhibition they have on at the moment. It is pictures of local fishermen but has an added treat in that there favourite fish dishes were also noted and a book of the images and recipes has been produced.

Also, next door there was an exhibition put on by an 'after schools group' of lino block prints, jewellery, small bags and mixed media art works.
This was the brainchild of a young local lady who had overseen the project and got the children really enthused about it all.
Some of the kids and the young lady were present and talked to us about the project, where the ideas had come from and where it is going in the future.
I commented on how there were similarities to some of the art installations over the past few years at the Pittenweem Arts Festival. The youth lady was overjoyed that I had noticed and said I was the first to have done so (or certainly said so)  - and even better that I was not local.

When we left the exhibition I went to try and get some pictures of the harbour light - and maybe the waves breaking over the sea wall I had seen when we arrived.
I got no shots of breaking waves (the tide had tuned).
What I did get was blown about and blocks of ice that resembled hands.
It was freezing!

On the way home we made a slight detour to go and see our friends daughter and family (the girl whose wedding I shot last year).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.